Day in the life of an analyst

Unlike many companies, working remotely is nothing new to Riskline. We have over a decade of experience working as a geo-graphically distributed team in over 15 countries and across 11 different time zones. To give you an insight into how our global team works together, we asked 3 of our analysts to document their working day.

“Operating as a truly global team gives us a strong competitive advantage. We always have a trained analyst monitoring events 24/7/365, meaning we don’t have to rely on artificial intelligence or out-sourcing.” Riskline Director of Operations, Adam Schrader

The global distribution of our staff allows us to maintain 24/7 business activity and management operations, as well as monitor the world’s political crises, security developments, and travel news every hour of every day – all aimed at helping to keep travellers safe and managers informed.

Our 24/7 nature means that we are able to create 25,000+ travel alerts per year, covering 225+ countries and territories. It also means that we can track all COVID-19 regulatory changes with regards to entry/exit requirements and restrictions to travel and freedom of movement, resulting in an average of 400 policy changes each day.

To give you an insight into how our global team works together, we asked 3 of our analysts to document their working day:

10.00 AEDT/21.00 GMT – Ramya (APAC Team, based in Australia) : In those few minutes before I log in, I take a few deep breaths to centre myself for the day ahead because I know it is going to be busy. I log in and let my colleagues in the Americas region, who have at least three overlapping hours with me, know that I’m ready to share the workload. We usually divide up the various incidents to cover amongst ourselves, especially if it’s a major breaking news development to ensure that these alerts go out in less than 10 minutes.

12.00 AEDT/01.00 GMT – Ramya: As part of our COVID-19 coverage, I pull up a list of countries and regions where policies are coming to an end so we can update them accordingly. I also send out alerts for the most urgent incidents happening in the APAC region, which includes two separate storms that hit China and Thailand, respectively.

15.00 AEDT/04.00 GMT- Ramya: By this time, the whole APAC team is online so we divide alert writing and editorial responsibilities. We also have our weekly team call to discuss upcoming incidents to focus on, such as elections and demonstrations.

18.00 AEDT/07.00 GMT- As my shift approaches its end, I take stock of the ongoing incidents and pending items I could not cover to pass them down to my colleagues in India and Japan. I check the upcoming team schedule and take care of a few outstanding administrative items before logging off..

09.00 GMT – Samir (EMEA Team, based in the United Kingdom) : By the time I sign on, my colleagues in the EMEA Team, who have already been online for a couple of hours, have dealt with the handover from the APAC team. I start the day by catching up with them and spend time training my new colleague based in Greece.

12.00 GMT, Samir : I’ve now moved on to monitor our various news feeds and write alerts based on what is happening in the world. We have wildfires in Turkey, and a bomb blast in Damascus.

10.00 ET/15.00 GMT- Paul (AMER Team, based in the United States): I come online, begin a review of the overnight news feeds and read through emails from prior shifts. I check the previous two days’ worth of COVID-19 news in the United States and Canada for any changes worth including in the report or as alerts.

15.00 GMT- Samir: I say hello to my colleagues in the United States when they come online and let them know about the major incidents that have occurred so far today. The rest of my EMEA team is signing off or has signed off so I ask them to pass on any events they didn’t have time to write about.

17.00 GMT-Samir: I have a final brief with my AMER colleagues and then log off.

13.00 ET/18:00 GMT- Paul: I continue writing alerts. Mostly updating travel controls due to several countries lifting travel restrictions.

16.00 ET/ 21.00 GMT- Paul: I spent some time reviewing and editing editorial work completed by my colleague ahead of publication. I check-in on the alert feeds for the remainder of the afternoon – there have been political protests in Mexico and weather-related disruptions in the United States due to hurricane season.

18.00 ET/23:00 GMT- Paul: As my day comes to an end, I touch base with the APAC analyst coming online (Ramya) and pass any outstanding incidents to her.

Share this article

Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook

Continue Reading

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.